Grand Challenges in Assessment Project

The Grand Challenges for Assessment in Higher Education project is a collaborative effort endorsed by nine higher education organizations with the goal of creating national strategic plans to address pressing challenges facing assessment in higher education. 

A number of national and international organizations have identified grand challenges to unify the efforts of scholars and practitioners in a field and catalyze meaningful and lasting progress. Singer-Freeman and Robinson (2020) solicited feedback on potential grand challenges discussed in the literature by surveying members of the assessment community and presenting the results at national meetings. This work resulted in the identification of four challenges with broad support from the assessment community. The leadership team has selected work group co-chairs and created a plan for national strategic planning around these issues.

These working groups are now creating strategic plans to address the challenges.  The initiative will run through July 2021, and working groups will produce conference presentations and articles to be published in Assessment Update. We are excited about this project and its potential to effect change in higher education. 

Read more about the top Grand Challenges here

Read updates from the working groups here

Listen to a podcast about the project here

See our recent presentation from AALHE 2020 here#

Grand Challenges Working Groups

Grand Challenge

Working Group Chairs

Leadership Team Liaison

Using assessment findings to increase equity

Shannon Milligan 

smilligan@ucsd.edu

Ciji Heiser

ciji.heiser@wmich.edu 

Group Membership

Christine Robinson

 Using assessment findings to direct immediate pedagogical improvements

Diane Kelly-Riley

dianek@uidaho.edu

Ruth Slotnick

rslotnick@bridgew.edu

Group Membership

Call to Action

Jane Marie Souza

Chelsea Lyles

 Producing visible and actionable assessment findings that drive innovation 

Carley Dear

cdear2@umc.edu 

Melissa Williams

mwilliams3@coloradotech.edu

Group Membership

Call to Action

Jeremy Penn

Natasha Jankowski

Examining changes in institutional effectiveness (including student learning) over time 

Justin Hoshaw

JHoshaw@waubonsee.edu

Megan Schramm-Possinger

possingerm@winthrop.edu

Group Membership

Call to Action

Gavin Henning

Alexa Wesley